Biden Releases Delegation for Tinubu’s Inauguration

The President of the United States of America, Joe Biden, has confirmed the delegation that will be attending the inauguration of the President-elect, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

Tinubu will be sworn in as the 16th President of Nigeria on May 29 at Eagle Square, Abuja.

The federal government had invited no fewer than 65 world leaders, including Heads of State for the Tinubu’s inauguration.

In a statement released by Biden he announced a nine-member delegation for the event.

Biden noted that the US delegation will be led by Secretary of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, Marcia L. Fudge.

The members of the Presidential Delegation of Biden include: 

Mr David Greene, Chargé d’Affaires, a.i., U.S. Embassy Abuja

The Honorable Sydney Kamlager-Dove, United States Representative (D), California

The Honorable Marisa Lago, Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade, U.S. Department of Commerce

General Michael E. Langley, Commander of U.S. Africa Command

The Honorable Enoh T. Ebong, Director, U.S. Trade and Development Agency

The Honorable Mary Catherine Phee, Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State

The Honorable Judd Devermont, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for African Affairs, National Security Council

The Honorable Monde Muyangwa, Assistant Administrator for the Bureau for Africa, U.S. Agency for International Development.

The official start of the inauguration festivities will be Tinubu’s investiture as Grand Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic and Kashim Shettima as Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger on Thursday.

Past presidents, diplomats, leaders of international organizations, well-known Nigerians, and officials of other foreign governments and agencies are also anticipated at the nation’s seventh transition ceremony.

Representatives of Nigeria’s traditional allies such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, France, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Pakistan, China, Germany, Finland, Jamaica, Japan, Israel, Turkey and several others are expected at the high-profile event.

Ahead of the inauguration, 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *