Buhari Lauds Lawmakers on the second anniversary

President Muhammadu Buhari has congratulated members of the 9th National Assembly on its second anniversary.

This was contained in a statement on Thursday, by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity Femi Adesina, who saluted the vision, courage, and patriotism of the Assembly.

The President described the 9th National Assembly as visionary, courageous and patriotic in their service to the nation.
Buhari lauded the lawmakers for their understanding and maturity in speedily processing bills that directly impact the welfare of the citizens, courageously finding common grounds to move the nation ahead, and passionately carrying out their oversight functions with justice and fairness.

“On behalf of Nigerians, and the Federal Executive Council, President Muhammadu Buhari sends warm greetings to the leadership and members of the 9th National Assembly on their second anniversary, extolling the sense of duty and diligence in handling issues related to the development of the country.

“The President commended the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, for using their wealth of experience, wisdom, and knowledge to ensure a peaceful working relationship among lawmakers, between both chambers, the Judiciary and the Executive, by always focusing on the larger picture of nation-building.

“As the 9th National Assembly commemorates the landmark, President Buhari believes the legislature has brought dignity and honour to the country, and looks forward to more years of a harmonious working relationship, with a focus on improving the livelihood of citizens, and creating an enabling environment for a prosperous nation where both the young and old can fully realize their dreams”, the statement added.
Meanwhile, Senate president Ahmad Lawan led a delegation of senators to the Wasa IDPs camp in southern Abuja to commemorate the second anniversary.

On the delegation were the deputy Senate president, Ovie Omo-Agege, Senate leader, Yahaya Abdullahi, deputy Senate leader, Ajayi Boroffice, the deputy minority leader, Emmanuel Bwacha, the chief whip, Orji Uzor Kalu, the deputy whip, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi, the minority whip, Philip Aduda, and deputy minority whip, Sahabi Ya’u.

The lawmakers donated some food items and other materials worth N10 million to the Wasa Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) camp.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *