Buhari Meet, Appreciates Outgoing Ministers

 President Muhammadu Buhari has expressed gratitude to ministers who have served in his tenure and are seeking elective positions in the coming general elections. 

The President stated this in a valedictory session at the Council Chamber in Abuja on Friday. He appreciated them for their services and cooperation and admonished other members of the cabinet to be more diligent and committed to the success of the administration.

Recall that the president had directed all ministers seeking elective public office to resign before May 16. Daily Times had reported that Buhari’s directive was made known on the day the Court of Appeal conditionally validated a section of the electoral law that mandates political office holders like ministers to resign before they can contest for elections or vote in party primaries.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, had disclosed after the meeting with the outgoing ministers that ten ministers are leaving.

He noted that some of the ministers have tendered their resignation while the others are in the process of doing so.

Present at the meeting are the Minister of State for Mines and Steel Uche Ogar; Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Minister of Women Affairs Pauline Tallen.

Others are the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Goodwill Akpabio; Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami and the Minister of Science, Technology, and Innovation,  Ogbonnaya Onu.

The former Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, was unavoidable absent 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *