Buhari nominates seven persons for Ministerial Screening

President Muhammadu Buhari (retd.) has nominated seven persons for screening and confirmation by the Senate for appointment as Ministers.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan read Buhari’s letter of request at Tuesday’s plenary in Abuja  

In the letter read by Lawan, the president noted that the nominees would replace the former ministers who resigned from his cabinet while seeking elective positions.

The letter read in part, “In accordance with Section 8 Subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I hereby forward the under listed ministerial nominees for your confirmation.

The nominees are:

Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State

Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State

Egwumakama Joseph Nkama – Ebonyi State

Goodluck Nnana Opiah – Imo State

Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State

Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State

Odum Odih – Rivers State

Those selected will be replacing the former minister of transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio and the former Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *