Buhari Swears in ICPC, NPC Commissioners

The commissioners for the National Population Commission and the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission were sworn into office Wednesday.

Channel has reported that President Muhammadu Buhari did the swearing-in ceremony shortly before the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting at the State House in Abuja. 

The Senate had last month confirmed the following commissioners, Chief Benedict Ukpong Effiong (Akwa Ibom),  Gloria Fateya Izonfo (Bayelsa), Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya (Benue), Dr Haliru Bala (Kebbi), and Dr Eyitayo Oyekunle Oyetunji (Oyo) for the National Population Commission (NPC).

Those for the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission are Assistant Inspector General of Police, Olugbenga Adeyanju (rtd) (Ekiti State), and Senator Anthony Agbo (Ebonyi), Anne Otelafu Odey (Cross River), Alh. Goni Ali Gujba (Yobe) and Dr Louis Solomon Mandama (Adamawa).

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari is chairing the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the council chambers of the Presidential Villa.

Physically present at the meeting are Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; Chief of Staff to the President, Prof Ibrahim Gambari; National Security Adviser, Babagana Monguno (rtd).

Other Ministers present at the meeting include the Attorney General and Minister of Justice Abubakar Malami; Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed; Labor and Employment, Chris Ngige; Agriculture, Mahmood Mohammed; Environment, Mohammed Abdullahi; Minister of Power, Abubakar Aliyu; Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed; Water Resources, Suleiman Adamu; Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu and the Minister of State for Health, Olorunimbe Mamora.

Meanwhile, the Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Folasade Yemi-Esan, participates virtually from their respective offices in Abuja.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *