Entertainment GistWhat Trended

Emeka Rollas re-elected for fresh three-year tenure as AGN president

Ejezie Emeka Rollas has returned unopposed for a third tenure as the national president of the Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN).

Rollas was re-elected after he amassed a total of 115 affirmation votes against four nays to retain his position just as Abubakar Yakubu Salisu got 120 ‘yes’ votes against one nay vote to return as National Secretary while Chelsea Nwodo emerged as assistant secretary of the guild.

Veteran actress Oby Okaforwin emerged as the new National Treasurer of the guild. She defeated Rhoda Adugba who polled 50 votes.

Nazareth Jesse, Marcus Maina, Bukky Fagbuyi, Clement Anigbo, and Moklese Osain all emerged as vice presidents for north-central, north-east, south-west, south-east, and south-south respectively.

Other elected executives are Emeka Duru as financial secretary, David Akuma as director of guild services, and Kea Adams as provost.

Meanwhile, the position of National PRO of the guild formerly held by Monalisa Chinda-Coker was declared vacant as the star actress declined to contest for a second term.

Insiders disclosed that the actress was cooking a new project requiring her total concentration in the coming year. The Guild we hear will fill the post in a by-election at a later date.

Speaking on behalf of the new executives, Rollas said the new leadership would consolidate on the successes of the AGN in the last three years and be more committed to the welfare of members.

He, therefore, called on members across the country to shun all divisive tendencies and work with the new executives to build a formidable AGN.

“ I can say today that all we have done in the past three years was foundation laying, so let us join hands and build on the successes we have so far achieved,” he said.

Emeka Rollas has remained the President of the Actors Guild of Nigeria since August 22, 2017, when he won the election for a first term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *