President Buhari Awards 449 Nigerians

449 Nigerians and friends of Nigeria received national honours from President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday during the 2022 National Honours Award Investiture in Abuja. 

Yemi Osinbajo, the vice president, and Ibrahim Gambari, the chief of staff to the president, were also present at the Abuja event.

The National Honors Award of the Commander of the Order of the Niger was given to Babatunde Fashola, SAN (CON).

The awardees include the President’s late Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari; Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State; Director General of the World Trade Organisation (WTO), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala; Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Ishaq Oloyede;  the Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola; Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State amongst others.

Others were awarded the Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON), Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR), and Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON).

In appreciation, Okowa said, “I thank President Muhammadu Buhari and the National Honours Awards Committee for my investiture earlier today, as a Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) — in recognition of my contributions to the development of the nation”. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *