As the wave of defection increases that Senate President Ahmad Lawan, has again confirmed the defection of three senators from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).
This was contained in a letter on Wednesday during the plenary session read by Lawan which conveyed the lawmakers’ intention of moving to the APC.

Earlier, Senator Peter Nwaoboshi of Delta North had announced his defection to the APC and is among the new lawmakers in the ruling party’s ranks.
Others are Sahabi Ya’u of Zamfara North and Lawali Anka, who represents Zamfara West.

The senators said the reason for their defection was a crisis in the country’s main opposition party.
Recall that in less than two months, two governors from the PDP had joined the APC, claiming their move was in the best interest of the country.

However, the opposition party has said it is not bothered by the wave of defections, adding that it is in good stead to retake power from the ruling party in 2023.
“We stand here to state clearly that we will form the next government come 2023 because of the masses, not the governors who are leaving the PDP,” the national chairman of the party, Uche Secondus said during a press conference in Abuja on Tuesday.

The PDP leader who accused the APC of “poaching governors” from the party and intimidating them to join the ruling party, urged the APC to focus on repositioning the country’s economy and making life better for Nigerians.

“I have never seen a country where you have an economic crisis, [and] insecurity then the ruling party goes poaching governors… It is a shame that all the governors left for fear; they were intimidated by the instrument of the government of the APC,” Secondus said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *