2023: APC Adjusts Campaign Timetable

The All Progressives Congress (APC’s) Presidential Campaign Council (PCC) is moving to increase the number of its 422-member roster of influential figures entrusted with helping Bola Tinubu and Kashim Shettima win the party’s nomination for president.

In a statement released late on Monday, PCC Director-General Simon Lalong stated that the list needed to be expanded in order to “accommodate more stakeholders and interests inside the APC family.”

Lalong, who is also the governor of Plateau State, also declared that the council’s inauguration and the prayer walk would not take place as scheduled on Wednesday. 

“Recall that we had earlier earmarked a peace walk and prayers for Wednesday, September 28, 2022, to kick off our campaigns for the 2023 Presidential Elections officially. We had also announced that the members of the Campaign Council report to the Campaign Headquarters on that day to collect their letters of appointments.

“However, due to the expansion of the list to accommodate more stakeholders and interests within the APC family, we have decided to adjust the timetable of these activities in order to ensure everyone is on board before activities officially commence.

“Consequently, the activities earlier announced for the 28th of September will no longer hold,” Lalong said, adding that a new date and timetable of events will be announced soon.

A development that caused quiet controversy over the weekend was the ruling party’s exclusion of some of Tinubu’s alleged rivals from the list released on Friday. This was especially true because some of the excluded individuals ran for the party’s presidential ticket alongside Tinubu, while others have been outspoken opponents of the Muslim-Muslim ticket of the APC.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to the Government of the Federation Boss Mustapha, former Secretary to the Government of the Federation Babachir Lawal, Former Speaker of the House of Representatives Yakubu Dogara, Former Minister of State for Education Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, and numerous other ruling party chieftains are among the individuals excluded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *