Akpabio Name Senate Committee Chairs

Senate President Godswill Akpabio has announced the Appropriations, Public Accounts, Ethics, Public Petitions and Establishment standing committees. 

He revealed this at Tuesday’s plenary, adding that Senator Ahmed Wadada will chair the Public Accounts Committee, while Senator Solomon Adeola would chair the Appropriations Committee.

See List

According to his announcement, the following lawmakers will chair Standing Committees of the Senate:

Committee on Rules and Business

Chairman – Sen. Titus Zam

Vice Chairman – Sen. Michael Opeyemi Bamidele

Committee on Senate Services

Chairman – Sen. Sunday Steve Karimi

Vice Chairman – Williams Eteng Jonah

Committee on Ethics, Code of Conduct and Public Petitions

Chairman – Sen. Okechukwu Ezea

Vice Chairman – Kareem Ibrahim

Committee on Public Account

Chairman – Sen. Aliyu Wadada Ahmed

Vice Chairman – Sen.Onyeka Peter Nwebonyi

Committee on National Security and Intelligence

Sen. Shehu Umar

Sen. Asuquo Ekpeyong

Committee on Legislative Compliance

Chairman – Sen. Garba Musa Maidoki

Vice Chairman – Ede Dafionon

Committee on Media

Chairman – Sen. Adaramodu Adeyemi Raphael

Vice Chairman – Sen. Salisu Shuaibu Afolabi

Committee on Appropriation

Chairman – Adeola Soloman Olamilekan

Vice Chairman – Sen. Mohammed Ali Ndume

Additionally, the Senate President delivered a letter from President Bola Tinubu asking the Senate to confirm recently appointed service chiefs.

He announced that the service chiefs would be screened by the entire senate in the senate chamber at a later date.

Similar requests for confirmation of the recently appointed service heads were made by the President to the House of Representatives last week.

At the beginning of the Thursday plenary session, Speaker Abass Tajudeen read the President’s letter.

In a bid to form a formidable force to tackle insecurity, Tinubu had on June 19, replaced all service chiefs with immediate effect.

Those replaced include retired Maj-Gen Babagana Monguno (National Security Adviser), Lucky Irabor (Chief of Defence Staff), Faruk Yahaya (Chief of Army Staff), Awwal Gambo (Chief of Naval Staff), and Isiaka Amao (Chief of Air Staff).

The new appointees include Nuhu Ribadu (National Security Adviser), Maj. Gen. Christopher Musa (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj. Gen. Taoreed Lagbaja (Chief of Army Staff), Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla (Chief of Naval Staff), and AVM Hassan Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff).

As they wait for National Assembly confirmation, the new office holders have subsequently resumed in an acting capacity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *