INEC Swears in 19 REC Members

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Thursday swore in a total of 19 newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners. 

Recall that on October 5, 2022, the Senate confirmed 19 RECs. The names of 19 candidates for Resident Electoral Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission were submitted to the Senate for approval in July by President Major General Muhammadu Buhari (ret.).

Yakubu urged the newly sworn-in RECs at the INEC headquarters in Abuja, where the event was held, to pledge their commitment to Nigeria and not jeopardise the commission’s independence.

In accordance with INEC regulations prohibiting a commissioner from serving in their home state, he also assigned the 19 RECs to their geopolitical zones outside their states of origin.

President Muhammadu Buhari reappointed commissioners for five of the 19 RECs, and the Senate approved them.

The renewal nominees confirmed include Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa), Obo Effanga (Cross River); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Agboke Olaleke (Ogun); and Professor Samuel Egwu (Kogi).

Those confirmed for fresh appointment are Onyeka Ugochi (Imo); Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto); Ayobami Salami, a professor (Oyo); Zango Abdu (Katsina); Queen Agwu (Ebonyi); and Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Yahaya Ibrahim, a professor, (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Garki (FCT); Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Uzochukwu Chijioke, a professor, (Anambra); and Mohammed Nura (Yobe).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *