Entertainment Gist

Oscars 2021: Anthony Hopkins, 83, becomes oldest star to win Best Actor Award; See full list of winners for the Oscars

Anthony Hopkins, who won the best actor Oscar almost three decades ago, received another on Sunday, denying the late Chadwick Boseman a prize many thought would go to him posthumously. 

The 83-year-old Welsh actor made history on April 25, with his second Oscar victory, becoming the oldest star to win an Academy Award for Best Actor award after becoming the oldest Best Actor nominee when the 2021 Oscar nominations were announced in March.

 He beat out fellow nominees Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal), Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom), Gary Oldman (Mank), and Steven Yeun (Minari).

Hopkins won the award for his towering performance as a London patriarch struggling with dementia in the drama “The Father,” which appeared to gain momentum with voters down the home stretch of awards season. He is now the oldest actor to ever win an Oscar.

“It was easy,” he told The New York Times about playing the role. “Just so easy.”

See the full list of the winners for the 2021 Oscars:

Best picture

Winner: Nomadland

The Father

Judas and the Black Messiah



Promising Young Woman

Sound of Metal

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best actress

Winner: Frances McDormand – Nomadland

Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Andra Day – The United States vs Billie Holiday

Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman

Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best actor

Winner: Anthony Hopkins – The Father

Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal

Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Gary Oldman – Mank

Steven Yeun – Minari

Best supporting actress

Winner: Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari

Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy

Olivia Colman – The Father

Amanda Seyfried – Mank

Best supporting actor

Winner: Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah

Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Leslie Odom Jr – One Night in Miami

Paul Raci – Sound of Metal

Lakeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Messiah

Best director

Winner: Nomadland – Chloe Zhao

Another Round – Thomas Vinterberg

Mank – David Fincher

Minari – Lee Isaac Chung

Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell

Best original screenplay

Winner: Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell

Judas and the Black Messiah – Will Berson, Shaka King, Will Berson, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas

Minari – Lee Isaac Chung

Sound of Metal – Darius Marder, Abraham Marder, Derek Cianfrance

The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin

Best adapted screenplay

Winner: The Father – Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm – Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern

Nomadland – Chloé Zhao

One Night in Miami – Kemp Powers

The White Tiger – Ramin Bahrani

Best animated feature

Winner: Soul


Over the Moon

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon


Best documentary feature

Winner: My Octopus Teacher – Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster

Collective – Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana

Crip Camp – Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder

The Mole Agent – Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez

Time – Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn

Best international feature

Winner: Another Round (Denmark)

Better Days (Hong Kong)

Collective (Romania)

The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)

Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Best original song

Winner: Fight For You – Judas and the Black Messiah (H.E.R., Dernst Emile II and Tiara Thomas)

Hear my Voice – The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite)

Husavik – Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson)

Io Si (Seen) – The Life Ahead [La Vita Davanti a Se] (Diane Warren and Laura Pausini)

Speak Now – One Night in Miami… (Leslie Odom, Jr and Sam Ashworth)

Best original score

Winner: Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste

Da 5 Bloods – Terence Blanchard

Mank – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Minari – Emile Mosseri

News of the World – James Newton Howard

Best cinematography

Winner: Mank – Erik Messerschmidt

Judas and the Black Messiah – Sean Bobbitt

News of the World – Dariusz Wolski

Nomadland – Joshua James Richards

The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Phedon Papamichael

Best visual effects

Winner: Tenet – Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher

Love and Monsters – Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox

The Midnight Sky – Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins

Mulan – Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram

The One and Only Ivan – Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher

Best film editing

Winner: Sound of Metal – Mikkel EG Nielsen

The Father – Yorgos Lamprinos

Nomadland – Chloé Zhao

Promising Young Woman – Frédéric Thoraval

The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Alan Baumgarten

Best costume design

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth

Emma – Alexandra Byrne

Mank – Trish Summerville

Mulan – Bina Daigeler

Pinocchio – Massimo Cantini Parrini

Best sound

Winner: Sound of Metal – Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh

Greyhound – Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman

Mank – Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin

News of the World – Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett

Soul – Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

Best production design

Winner: Mank – Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale

The Father – Peter Francis and Cathy Featherstone

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Mark Ricker, Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton

News of the World – David Crank and Elizabeth Keenan

Tenet – Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas

Best make-up and hairstyling

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson

Emma – Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze

Hillbilly Elegy – Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney

Mank – Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff

Pinocchio – Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti

Best live-action short

Winner: Two Distant Strangers – Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe

Feeling Through – Doug Roland and Susan Ruzenski

The Letter Room – Elvira Lind and Sofia Sondervan

The Present – Farah Nabulsi

White Eye – Tomer Shushan and Shira Hochman

Best animated short

Winner: If Anything Happens I Love You – Will McCormack and Michael Govier

Burrow – Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat

Genius Loci – Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise

Opera – Erick Oh

Yes-People – Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson

Best documentary short

Winner: Colette – Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard

A Concerto is a Conversation – Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers

Do Not Split – Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook

News Link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *