Tinubu’s nomination of Urum Eke Rejected

President Bola Tinubu’s nomination of Urum Kalu Eke, an Abia State resident, to the position of member of the Central Bank of Nigeria’s Board of Directors has been denied, according to a statement made by the Senate on Thursday.

The President transmitted the appointments of four additional CBN board members to the Senate, which has already confirmed them.

Robert Agbede, Ado Yakubu Wanka, Professor Murtala Sabo Sagagi, and Mrs. Muslimat Olanike Aliyu were among those confirmed by the Senate on Thursday as Directors.

The confirmation followed the review of a report on the nominee’s screening submitted by Senator Adetokunbo Abiru of the APC, Lagos East, as the chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and Other Financial Institutions.

He said, “That the Senate do receive and consider the report of on the confirmation of the nomination of the following Five (5) persons as members of the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Nigeria in accordance with section 6(1), (2) (d) and 10 of the Central Bank of Nigeria Act, 2007.”

He claimed that because Urum Kalu Eke from Abia did not show up for the committee’s screening, the Committee did not clear him.

Speaking to the Senate on the nominee, former Abia State governor Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, APC, Abia North, stated that he had received a phone call from a constituent who had declined the offer because it interfered with his current position as a World Bank consultant.

Remember that last week, in a letter to the Senate, President Bola Tinubu requested that five individuals nominated to the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) board be screened and then confirmed.

The appointed board directors of the CBN are; Robert Agbide, Ado Wanga, Murtala Sagaley, Urom Kalu Eke, and Olayinka Aliyu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *