INEC Halts Re-run Elections in 20 Constituencies

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has halted the ongoing re-run elections in certain constituencies, citing disruptions, irregularities, and the abduction of election officials as the reasons for the suspension.

This was disclosed in a statement on Saturday by the National Commissioner and Chairman, of the Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun in Abuja.

The impacted regions are the Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency in Akwa Ibom State. The elections in two Polling Units, namely Village Hall, Edem Urua 003 in Ini LGA and Village Hall Mbiabong Ikot Udo 003 in Ikono LGA, have been suspended due to incidents of hoodlums seizing all election materials.

He said, “Enugu South 1 State Constituency, Enugu State. Suspension of elections in all eight Polling Units where the original results sheets were not available for inspection by voters before the commencement of polls.

“Kunchi/Tsanyawa State Constituency, Kano State. Suspension of elections in all ten Polling Units in Kunchi LGA due to invasion, vandalization, and disruption by thugs.”

“Further necessary measures for the affected constituencies will be announced after the Commission’s meeting on Monday.

“INEC invites the security agencies to investigate the incidents, while the Commission commits to thoroughly interrogating any breaches involving its officials”, he added.

Olumekun mentioned that the Commission’s decision is in accordance with the provisions of Section 24(3) of the Electoral Act, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *