Liverpool left it late against Chelsea to clinch Carabao Cup

Liverpool pulled off an extra-time lone goal winner over Chelsea to clinch the Carabao Cup at Wembley Stadium.

Chelsea was up against a depleted Liverpool side who were without a host of injured major players, including a forward trio of Mohamed Salah, Darwin Nunez and Diogo Jota.

The Reds also lost Ryan Gravenberch in the first half, after her was stretched off following a challenge by Moises Caicedo’s.

Jurgen Klopp’s men had a Virgil van Dijk goal disallowed in the second half, but that did not deter the Reds, as they mentioned the pressure against a wasteful Chelsea side. 

The efforts paid off in the 118th minute when van Dijk headed home a winner, which stood this time and handed Liverpool their 10th Carabao Cup. 

The result meant Chelsea have now become the first English club to lose six consecutive domestic cup finals, including three against Liverpool. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *