Lionel Messi wins record 8th Ballon d’Or

Argentine Talisman, Lionel Messi has won the Men’s Ballon d’Or for a record and historic eighth time.

The 36-year-old was given the award at a ceremony held in Paris on Monday, almost a year after leading his country to World Cup triumph in Qatar.

The former Barcelona man won the coveted award ahead of Man City forward, Erling Haaland who finished in second place.

Haaland was part of the City side that won the treble last season, scoring a record-breaking 36 goals in 35 EPL games and an overall 52 goals in all competitions last season.

For his goal-scoring prowess, the Norwegian youngster was awarded the Gerd Muller trophy for Best Goal Scorer.

Other winners of the night include Spain and Barcelona midfielder Aitana Bonmati who won the Women’s Ballon d’Or.

England and Real Madrid midfielder, Jude Bellingham won the  Kopa award for the world’s best player aged under 21.

Argentina World Cup winner and Aston Villa goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez won the Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper in the world.

Madrid and Brazilian winger, Vinicius Jr received the Socrates Award for his contribution to the game on and off the pitch. 

Manchester City was named the club of the year for the second consecutive time. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *