Manchester City wins Fifth English Premier League Title

Manchester City has been crowned champions of the English premier league for the third time in four seasons and the fifth time overall, thanks to Leicester City’s 2-1 win over Manchester United on Tuesday.  

Luke Thomas put the visitors in front before Mason Greenwood leveled things for Ole Gunnar’s men, but it was Caglar Soyuncu’s far-post header that seal things off for both Leicester and Manchester United’s, city rivals, Manchester City. 

Defeat for United means they are 10 points behind City with only three games remaining.

The result also ended United’s 14-match unbeaten run in the league, since the home defeat by Sheffield United on 27 January.
Despite already having a champion, the rollercoaster of the league isn’t over and Manchester United is next in action on Thursday, May 13,  when they host Liverpool who is outside the top 4 and on the verge of missing out on champions league football next season.
Leicester feature in Saturday’s FA Cup final with Chelsea at Wembley, before taking on Chelsea again in the premier league on Tuesday, May 18. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *